- LEEInks - http://leeinks.weei.com -

Kevin Youkilis a free agent after White Sox decline option

Posted By Jerry Spar On October 31, 2012 @ 12:12 pm In Uncategorized | No Comments

The White Sox [1] declined the $13 million option [2] on Kevin Youkilis [3], announcing Tuesday that the former Red Sox [4] third baseman will receive a buyout of $1 million and become a free agent.

Youkilis, who was traded to Chicago in June after eight-plus seasons in Boston, hit .236 with 15 home runs in 80 games with the White Sox.

White Sox general manager Rick Hahn indicated the team has not ruled out re-signing Youkilis or right-handed reliever Brett Myers [5], who the team bought out for $3 million rather than pick up a $10 million option.

“They’re going to hear from other clubs, likely receive offers and stay in touch with us,” Hahn said.

The White Sox also announced that they agreed to a $29 million, two-year contract with right-hander Jake Peavy [6], and they are exercising their $9.5 million option to keep right-handed pitcher Gavin Floyd [7].


Article printed from LEEInks: http://leeinks.weei.com

URL to article: http://leeinks.weei.com/sports/2012/10/31/kevin-youkilis-a-free-agent-after-white-sox-decline-option

URLs in this post:

[1] White Sox: http://media.weei.com/baseball/chicago-white-sox.htm

[2] declined the $13 million option: http://weei.stats.com/mlb/story.asp?i=20121030184144254650408&ref=hea&tm=&src=

[3] Kevin Youkilis: http://media.weei.com/baseball/kevin-youkilis.htm

[4] Red Sox: http://media.weei.com/baseball/boston-red-sox.htm

[5] Brett Myers: http://media.weei.com/baseball/brett-myers.htm

[6] Jake Peavy: http://media.weei.com/baseball/jake-peavy.htm

[7] Gavin Floyd: http://media.weei.com/baseball/gavin-floyd.htm

Copyright © 2008 Weei.com. All rights reserved.