- LEEInks - http://leeinks.weei.com -

Tuesday’s Morning Mashup: Phil Jackson calls Lakers’ handling of coaching change ‘slimy’

Posted By Jerry Spar On November 13, 2012 @ 7:55 am In Uncategorized | No Comments

Welcome to Tuesday’s Morning Mashup. For the latest news, start at our WEEI.com home page [1] or click here for the top stories from our news wire [2].

TUESDAY’S BROADCAST HIGHLIGHTS:
NBA: Spurs at Lakers, 10:30 p.m. (NBA TV)
College basketball [3]: Northern Illinois at Valparaiso, 8 a.m. (ESPN)
College basketball: Harvard at UMass, 10 a.m. (ESPN)
College basketball: Temple at Kent State, noon (ESPN)
College basketball: Detroit at St. John’s, 2 p.m. (ESPN)
College basketball: Butler at Xavier, 4 p.m. (ESPN)
College basketball: Michigan State [4] vs, Kansas, at Atlanta, 7 p.m. (ESPN)
College basketball: Wichita State at Virginia Commonwealth, 7 p.m. (ESPNU)
College basketball: Georgia Southern at Charlotte, 9 p.m. (NBCSN)
College basketball: Duke vs. Kentucky, at Atlanta, 9:30 p.m. (ESPN)

AROUND THE WEB:

‘™¦ The Lakers reportedly had an abrupt change of heart when they hired former Suns and Knicks coach Mike D’Antoni to replace Mike Brown [5], and the news did not sit well [6] with the legendary Phil Jackson [7], who many thought was headed back to the bench.

Lakers fans were chanting “We want Phil” at home games Friday and Sunday, and it appeared that the team agreed after general manager Mitch Kupchak and team vice president Jim Buss met with Jackson on Saturday. Jackson told The Los Angeles Times that he thought he was going to give the team his decision on Monday, but then he got a phone call late Sunday night, after the Lakers agreed on a three-year, $12 million deal with D’Antoni.

“I wish it would have been a little bit cleaner,” Jackson told the Times. “It would have been much more circumspect and respectful of everybody that’s involved. It seemed slimy to be awoken with this kind of news. It’s just weird.”

Kupchak explained his stance this way in a statement: “After speaking with several excellent and well-respected coaching candidates, Dr. [Jerry] Buss, Jim and I all agreed that Mike was the right person at this time to lead the Lakers forward.”

‘™¦ Some Jets continue to tell the media that they’re confident they can rebound from their 3-6 start and make the playoffs, but behind closed doors the pressure is getting to them [8].

According to an ESPN report that cited several players, coach Rex Ryan [9] got so emotional during Sunday’s postgame talk to the team that he cried and frustratedly asked the team, “When are you guys going to believe?”

Ryan’s eyes were red and glassy when he met the media minutes later, calling the 28-7 defeat to the Seahawks “a brutal loss.”

Said veteran linebacker Bryan Thomas [10]: “We’re all emotional. If this doesn’t affect everybody, you don’t have a [expletive] heart.”

Added Thomas: “We’re all pissed. We can’t let games slip away. We don’t have much time left. We have only seven damn games to go. Time is slipping.”

Ryan continues to insist he will stick with beleaguered quarterback Mark Sanchez [11], with Tim Tebow [12] getting spot duty as he did in Seattle. Seahawks [13] coach Pete Carroll [14], who coached Sanchez at USC, indicated he’s not sure it’s the best situation [15].

“It’s just a distraction,” Carroll told Seattle’s ESPN Radio station Monday. “It’s mixed signals that go out. Their fans are torn up. If they didn’t have a situation like this, they wouldn’t be hooting and hollering probably the way they do at [Sanchez], so it wouldn’t be as difficult. That’s just part of it. I do feel for Mark and anybody that would be in that situation.”

‘™¦ Bears linebacker Brian Urlacher [16] took some heat from Chicago fans for congratulating Texans safety Danieal Manning (a former Bear) after Manning intercepted Jay Cutler [17] in Sunday night’s Houston victory. On Monday, Urlacher made it clear he has no plans to change his ways [18].

‘€œThat was a nice play. I could give a crap about what people think on the street. Get mad at me all you want, I could give ‘€¦ I could give a crap about what people say,’€ Urlacher said on Chicago’s The Waddle & Silvy Show on ESPN 1000. ‘€œDanieal Manning is a friend of mine, he was a teammate for five or six years, and that’€™s the way it is. He made a catch and was running toward the sideline to say something to coach [Lovie Smith [19]], so I walked out there. The guy had a good game, he caused a fumble, had a pick. He’€™s my friend. I wish he wouldn’€™t have caught it, but he did, so nice play to you. I don’€™t give a crap about what fans or people say, they can kiss my butt. I don’€™t care.’€

‘€œWhen the play is over, it’€™s over. It’€™s not like I have to go out there and be a jerk to him because it’€™s during the game and I’€™m a tough guy,’€ Urlacher added. ‘€œThat’€™s not the way it is. They’€™re my friends. Between the whistles I’€™m going to try and get them, and when the play is over we’€™ll go back to doing whatever.’€

ON THIS DAY TRIVIA: On Nov. 13, 1978, which player left the Red Sox [20] to sign as a free agent with the Yankees [21]?

QUOTE OF THE DAY: “I tell you what, I wouldn’t be a fan of Spikes either when he’s knocking the hell out of people every time. I wouldn’t be a fan, either. I tell you one thing, when this defense needs a play, that is probably the first guy you look at on our defense to make a play, which he did. Plain and simple. I think he’s probably one of the most hard-hitting, most feared linebackers in the game.” – Patriots defensive lineman Vince Wilfork [22], on Monday’s The Big Show [23], speaking about teammate Brandon Spikes [24], who was criticized by Bills quarterback Ryan Fitzpatrick [25] following Sunday’s game

STAT OF THE DAY: 31 – Consecutive games with at least 10 assists for Rajon Rondo [26], who recorded his 10th assist with 22 seconds remaining in Monday’s 101-95 victory over the Bulls in Chicago [27]

‘NET RESULTS: Matt Nichols, quarterback for the Edmonton Eskimos of the Canadian Football League [28], suffers a gruesome leg injury during a loss to the Toronto Argonauts.

TRIVIA ANSWER: Luis Tiant

SOOTHING SOUNDS: Actor Steve Zahn, who played the guitarist in “That Thing You Do!” was born on this day in 1967.


Article printed from LEEInks: http://leeinks.weei.com

URL to article: http://leeinks.weei.com/sports/2012/11/13/tuesdays-morning-mashup-phil-jackson-calls-lakers-handling-of-coaching-change-slimy

URLs in this post:

[1] WEEI.com home page: http://www.weei.com/

[2] click here for the top stories from our news wire: http://weei.stats.com/multisport/front.asp

[3] College basketball: http://media.weei.com/ncaa/ncaa-basketball.htm

[4] Michigan State: http://media.weei.com/ncaa/michigan-state-spartans.htm

[5] Mike Brown: http://media.weei.com/football/mike-brown.htm

[6] the news did not sit well: http://www.latimes.com/sports/basketball/nba/lakers/la-sp-lakers-coach-jackson-20121113,0,6898446.story

[7] Phil Jackson: http://media.weei.com/basketball/phil-jackson.htm

[8] the pressure is getting to them: http://espn.go.com/new-york/nfl/story/_/id/8622077/new-york-jets-pitiful-performance-vs-seattle-seahawks-crying-shame

[9] Rex Ryan: http://media.weei.com/football/rex-ryan.htm

[10] Bryan Thomas: http://media.weei.com/football/bryan-thomas.htm

[11] Mark Sanchez: http://media.weei.com/football/mark-sanchez.htm

[12] Tim Tebow: http://media.weei.com/football/tim-tebow.htm

[13] Seattle. Seahawks: http://media.weei.com/football/seattle-seahawks.htm

[14] Pete Carroll: http://media.weei.com/football/pete-carroll.htm

[15] he’s not sure it’s the best situation: http://www.nypost.com/p/blogs/jetsblog/seahawks_carroll_feels_bad_for_sanchez_VnPw2jT7ZZhy97DRGi3GcI#axzz2C6b7suNp

[16] Brian Urlacher: http://media.weei.com/football/brian-urlacher.htm

[17] Jay Cutler: http://media.weei.com/football/jay-cutler.htm

[18] he has no plans to change his ways: http://espn.go.com/chicago/nfl/story/_/id/8623806/brian-urlacher-oif-chicago-bears-rips-critics-handshake-danieal-manning

[19] Lovie Smith: http://media.weei.com/football/lovie-smith.htm

[20] Red Sox: http://media.weei.com/baseball/boston-red-sox.htm

[21] the Yankees: http://media.weei.com/baseball/new-york-yankees.htm

[22] Vince Wilfork: http://media.weei.com/football/vince-wilfork.htm

[23] on Monday’s The Big Show: http://www.weei.com/sports/boston/this-just-in/21240126/wilfork-spikes-one-most-feared-game

[24] Brandon Spikes: http://media.weei.com/football/brandon-spikes.htm

[25] Ryan Fitzpatrick: http://media.weei.com/football/ryan-fitzpatrick.htm

[26] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[27] Monday’s 101-95 victory over the Bulls in Chicago: http://www.weei.com/sports/boston/this-just-in/21240176/bullish-rondo-cs-hold-bulls

[28] Canadian Football League: http://media.weei.com/football/canadian-football-league.htm

Copyright © 2008 Weei.com. All rights reserved.