- LEEInks - http://leeinks.weei.com -

Tuesday’s Morning Mashup: Joe Paterno’s family continues push to clear his name

Posted By Jerry Spar On February 12, 2013 @ 7:51 am In Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Welcome to Tuesday’s Morning Mashup. For the latest news, start at our WEEI.com home page [1] or click here for the top stories from our news wire [2].

TUESDAY’S BROADCAST HIGHLIGHTS:
NHL [3]: Rangers at Bruins, 7:30 p.m. (NESN, NBCSN)
NBA: Trail Blazers at Heat, 7:30 p.m. (NBATV)
NBA: Rockets at Warriors, 10:30 p.m. (NBATV)
College basketball [4]: Kentucky at Florida, 7 p.m. (ESPN)
College basketball: Seton Hall at Rutgers, 7 p.m. (ESPN)
College basketball: Virginia Tech at Virginia, 7 p.m. (ESPNU)
College basketball: Michigan at Michigan State [5], 9 p.m. (ESPN)
College basketball: Alabama at Georgia, 9 p.m. (ESPNU)

AROUND THE WEB:

‘™¦ While the family of Joe Paterno [6] continues its crusade [7] to clear the Penn State legend of any wrongdoing in the Jerry Sandusky sexual abuse scandal, the school is closing in on settlements with most of the victims of the former assistant coach.

Attorney Ken Feinberg, who was hired by the school, told The Associated Press that he delivered settlement offers from 28 alleged victims (18 more than the number brought up in Sandusky’s trial) to school administrators, lawyers and members of the board of trustees during Friday meeting in Philadelphia.

“The next step is Penn State — we’ll see how Penn State responds in the next few weeks,” Feinberg said.

Meanwhile, on Monday a member of the board of trustees called on the board to re-examine the findings of Louis Freeh‘s investigation, saying a new report from a team hired by Paterno’s family raised “serious and troubling” questions about the Freeh report. The school declined comment on the request from board member Alvin Clemens.

Pateron’s wife, Sue, and others, including former Penn State player Greg Buttle appeared on Katie Couric‘s show on Monday and defended Paterno, who died last January.

Joe Paterno [8] didn’t conspire to do anything,” Buttle said. “The conspiracy to me was perpetrated by a cabal of trustees and others that felt they needed a convenient way out to relieve Penn State of what had happened.”

‘™¦ Kobe Bryant [9], who last year was fined $100,000 for using a homophobic slur toward an official during a game, apparently has learned his lesson. When one of his 1.3 million Twitter followers tweeted “You’re gay” as an insult to another follower Sunday, Bryant stepped in [10].

Tweeted the Lakers star:

Just letting you know@PacSmoove @pookeo9 that using “your gay” as a way to put someone down ain’t ok! #notcool delete that out ur vocab.

Bryant acknowledged that last year’s incident was on his mind after another follower brought it up. Tweeted Bryant:

exactly! That wasn’t cool and was ignorant on my part. I own it and learn from it and expect the same from others.

‘™¦ Inspired by the surprise resignation of Pope Benedict XVI, USA Today has a list of the top 10 athletes who tied to cling to their careers for too long [11].

No. 1 is Muhammad Ali [12], followed by Brett Favre [13]. Former Red Sox players Rickey Henderson and Roger Clemens [14] are third and fourth, respectively. They’re followed by Evander Holyfield [15], Michael Jordan [16], Jerry Rice [17], Patrick Ewing [18], Gordie Howe and Deion Sanders [19].

ON THIS DAY TRIVIA (answer below): On Feb. 12, 1981, which Bruin recorded his 200th career goal when he scored twice in a 3-3 tie vs. the Colorado Rockies [20]?

QUOTE OF THE DAY: “I’€™m very happy. This is what, our 12th, 13th year? The last 12 years have been the best years of my life. Tom [Werner] and Larry [Lucchino] and I have had a tremendous working relationship. We have always been on the same page. It’€™s fun working with talented people. You just don’€™t get an opportunity to own something like the Boston Red Sox [21]. As long as we can do it, the three of us our committed to being here. These thoughts that we are somewhat selling, those are just erroneous.” – Red Sox principal owner John Henry, during a meeting with the media [22] at spring training Monday

STAT OF THE DAY: 10 – Celtics [23] players who saw at least 10 minutes of action in the first half of Monday’s loss to the Bobcats [24], as coach Doc Rivers [25] tried to spread out the minutes on a team that played a triple-overtime game the night before

‘NET RESULTS (mobile users, check the website to see the videos): Anna Olson of Lewis-Palmer High School in Monument, Colo., hits a three-quarter-court 3-pointer just before the end of the third quarter by throwing the ball as far as she can and then getting a lucky bounce — off the floor.

Jeremy Lin [26] puts his Harvard education to good use in the latest “This is SportsCenter” commercial.

A skydiver mistimes his jump at the Rugby Sevens World Series [27] in Las Vegas and lands on the field during extra time of a game between Fiji and Samoa.

TRIVIA ANSWER: Rick Middleton

SOOTHING SOUNDS: Gene McDaniels, who died in 2011, was born on this day in 1935.


Article printed from LEEInks: http://leeinks.weei.com

URL to article: http://leeinks.weei.com/sports/2013/02/12/tuesdays-morning-mashup-joe-paternos-family-continues-push-to-clear-his-name

URLs in this post:

[1] WEEI.com home page: http://www.weei.com/

[2] click here for the top stories from our news wire: http://weei.stats.com/multisport/front.asp

[3] NHL: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nhl.htm

[4] College basketball: http://media.weei.com/ncaa/ncaa-basketball.htm

[5] Michigan State: http://media.weei.com/ncaa/michigan-state-spartans.htm

[6] Joe Paterno: http://media.weei.com/ncaa/joe-paterno.htm

[7] continues its crusade: http://weei.stats.com/multisport/story.asp?i=20130211135258841721908

[8] Joe Paterno: http://media.weei.com/ncaa/coach-joe-paterno.htm

[9] Kobe Bryant: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kobe-bryant.htm

[10] Bryant stepped in: http://espn.go.com/los-angeles/nba/story/_/id/8937440/kobe-bryant-chides-twitter-follower-using-anti-gay-insult

[11] 10 athletes who tied to cling to their careers for too long: http://www.usatoday.com/story/gameon/2013/02/11/10-players-who-should-have-stopped-playing-sooner/1909223/

[12] Muhammad Ali: http://media.weei.com/boxing/muhammad-ali.htm

[13] Brett Favre: http://media.weei.com/football/brett-favre.htm

[14] Roger Clemens: http://media.weei.com/baseball/roger-clemens.htm

[15] Evander Holyfield: http://media.weei.com/boxing/evander-holyfield.htm

[16] Michael Jordan: http://media.weei.com/basketball/michael-jordan.htm

[17] Jerry Rice: http://media.weei.com/football/jerry-rice-hall-of-famer.htm

[18] Patrick Ewing: http://media.weei.com/basketball/patrick-ewing.htm

[19] Deion Sanders: http://media.weei.com/football/deion-sanders.htm

[20] Colorado Rockies: http://media.weei.com/baseball/colorado-rockies.htm

[21] Boston Red Sox: http://media.weei.com/baseball/boston-red-sox.htm

[22] during a meeting with the media: http://fullcount.weei.com/sports/boston/baseball/red-sox/2013/02/11/john-henry-talks-and-this-is-what-he-had-to-say/

[23] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[24] Monday’s loss to the Bobcats: http://weei.stats.com/multisport/recap.asp?lg=NBA&g=2013021130

[25] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[26] Jeremy Lin: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jeremy-lin.htm

[27] World Series: http://media.weei.com/baseball/world-series.htm

Copyright © 2008 Weei.com. All rights reserved.